Dwarf and Elf Lords

Copyright Nigel Buckle © 2003

Edited by Nicholas HM Caldwell for The Guild Companion

"Instead of using a wizard, you use one of the Dwarf or Elf characters"

It's been a while since the last Middle Earth Expansion (The Balrog) and a minion player has many more choices of avatar than a hero. So this article is an attempt to freshen up the game and give hero players more options.

This expansion alters the way 'wizards' work. Instead of using a wizard, you use one of the Dwarf or Elf characters. Each lord has specific abilities/rules but the following apply to all.

General Rules

  1. This expansion is unofficial, not available for tournament play and can only be used with the agreement of all players.
  2. You can include 3 copies of the hero character related to your Lord card (e.g. If you are "Dain Ironfoot, Lord of the Iron Hills" you can include up to 3 copies of Dain II in your deck and for the purposes of these rules Dain is the character associated with your Lord). Your opponent cannot play the associated character, nor a hazard manifestation.
  3. You must declare you are a 'Lord' at the start of the game, and reveal your Lord card before the draft. It is not recommended that both players be the same Lord. If your opponent was intending to use the hero character relating to your lord in their draft or deck, they can remove it and replace it with another character.
  4. The Character associated with your Lord takes no general influence to control, but can only be brought into play at Rivendell or the character's home site. Use the normal character's mind for the purposes of interpreting hazards like Seized by Terror, Neeker-Breekers, and resources such as Fireworks. Like a wizard, your character is immune from influence attempts.
  5. Once the character associated with your Lord is in play then the standard rules for bringing characters into play apply as though you had a wizard in play [Before you play your Wizard, you may use general influence to bring a character into play at any haven or at his home site. After revealing your Wizard, you may use general influence to bring a character into play only if your Wizard is at the site at which the character arrives (i.e., a Haven or the character's home site).]
  6. The Character associated with your Lord is not a wizard, the rules for wizards (such as using spells, tapping to access the sideboard, etc) do not apply. If the character associated with your Lord is eliminated, then you immediately lose all the abilities on your Lord card and suffer the usual MP penalty for losing the associated character.

You will find the new Lord cards in this pdf. Print these out and paste them onto unwanted spare cards.